Skip to main content

About North Wales Police

North Wales Police covers the whole of North Wales, including the counties of Isle of Anglesey, Gwynedd, Conwy, Denbighshire, Flintshire and Wrexham. The area is mostly rural and includes the Snowdonia National Park. It also has a vast coastal area, around Anglesey, the Llyn Peninsula and the north coast of Wales. Serving a population of 687,800 people, it has around 1,450 police officers and 250 police community support officers along with 800 staff.

The headquarters are in Colwyn Bay, with divisional headquarters in St Asaph, Caernarfon and Llay.

The eastern part of north Wales contains the most populous areas, such as Wrexham and Deeside, while popular coastal resort towns include Rhyl, Llandudno and Pwllheli. North Wales has two cities, Bangor and St Asaph, Bangor is an University City which homes approximately 16,605 students. The major A55 road links the area to cities like Manchester, Liverpool and Birmingham and the port of Holyhead on Anglesey for ferries to Ireland.

North Wales Police is led by Chief Constable Amanda Blakeman, Deputy Chief Constable Nigel Harrison, Assistant Chief Constable Chris Allsop and Seb Phillips, Director of Finance and Resources.

To contact North Wales Police there is a single non-emergency phone number, 101. This number will give access to all the policing services in Wales. If your call is an emergency please call 999.